Consecration to Mary

On the Annunciation I consecrated myself to Mary by reading 33 Days to Morning Glory written by Father Michael E. Gaitley, MIC. The Annunciation is important to me for a few reasons- it was a perfect day. After consecration I’ve been so uplifted, noticing my blessings, and recognizing Jesus’ presence more through my growing relationship with Our Lady. I would recommend 33 Days to Morning Glory to anyone! It’s simple, extremely enriching, and Father Michael does a great job at arresting both the heart and the mind in prayer and knowledge. Here’s what I wrote on Instagram about my consecration day:

The Annunciation of The Blessed Virgin Mary. My consecration day. What a GLORIOUS “new morning”! Today the whole world celebrates Mary’s “Yes!” In accepting to follow the will of God and be the Mother of Our Lord, Jesus Christ. I’m happy to say that I’m joyfully choosing to continue to say “Yes!” each and every day through this consecration. I, Kaitlyn, a repentant sinner, renew and ratify the vows of my Baptism and proclaim the great things that God is doing in my life!

This chain celebrates my consecration to our Lady by learning to rely on Mary’s powerful intercession, experience her tender care, let myself be led by her, having recourse to her in all things, and trusting in her completely because Jesus entrusted her to us in His final moments on the cross (Jn 19:27). I am moved by an desire to live in the closest union with God that I possibly can, and I pray that by consecrating myself to Jesus through Mary I may be united “upward” to the Father with Jesus, Mary, and the Holy Spirit.

But most of all, I desire to imitate the kind of compassion and thirst for love in all souls that Blessed Mother Teresa most gloriously taught us in her own consecration- imitating her in asking Mary to lend me her heart as I unite myself to the perfect will of Christ. There was no one else closer Jesus to on this Earth than Mary. Therefore, I pray that I may stay close to her always, and in doing so, Him. Magnificat! 💙😇

Leave a Reply

